# Council of Academic Deans Council of Academic Leaders

Minutes January 15, 2025

CAD Present: Andi Kent, Andrzej Wierzbicki (A&S), Angela Rand (LIB), Heather Hall (NURS), Susan Gordon-Hickey (CAHP), Michael Capella (MCOB), Todd Andel (SOC), Rick Carter (GLOBAL), Angela Barlow (CEPS), Harold Pardue (GRAD), Emily Wilson (WCOM)

CAL Present: Charles Guest, Julie Estis, S. Raj Chaudhury, Mathew Cox, Anjie Davis, Nicole Carr

Guests Present: Ashley Suggs, David Blair, Ashley Gibson, Christina Wassenaar, Alison Wood

## **Council of Academic Leaders**

- 1. Minutes of the December 3, 2024 meeting were approved as written.
- 2. Licensure Program Disclosures and Attestation: Alison Wood reviewed the NC-SARA reporting procedures and the required disclosures and attestations.
- 3. Spring Mid-Term Deadline: Dr. Nicole Carr reminded the group of the new spring midterm grade submission window, opening on February 24, 2025 and closing on March 5, 2025. Dr. Carr requested that progress feedback be given to students as early in the semester as possible, especially in cases where the students may be struggling. A reminder of the opening and closing dates will be posted weekly in the Daily Digest.
- 4. Communication Following CAL Meetings: Dr. Andi Kent reminded leaders to disseminate information to leadership teams following CAL & CAD meetings so that it may be passed on to faculty and staff.
- 5. Other:
- David Blair reviewed proposed changes to the Military Leave Policy as required by federal law. Please provide any feedback on the policy to Mr. Blair directly.
- b. Dr. Kent asked leaders to forward her any information on recognitions, awards or praise worthy faculty and staff within their departments.

### **Council of Academic Deans**

- 1. ACHE Proposal Process: Ashley Gibson reviewed deadlines for ACHE proposals and discussed new substantive changes guidelines for SACSCOC. Ashley also briefly mentioned a new ACHE "skinny" proposal, which is an abbreviated proposal made post-implementation of a program or concentration.
- 2. Non-Tenure Track Professor of Instruction Policy: Dr. Susan Gordon-Hickey proposed revisiting the Non-Tenure Track Professor of Instruction Policy, making changes that would allow colleges to write guidelines that are college-specific. This item was briefly discussed and may be brought back to the group at a later meeting.

## Council of Academic Deans Council of Academic Leaders

Minutes February 12, 2025

CAD Present: Andi Kent, Andrzej Wierzbicki (A&S), Lorene Flanders (LIB), Heather Hall (NURS), Susan Gordon-Hickey (CAHP), Michael Capella (MCOB), Todd Andel (SOC), Rick Carter (GLOBAL), Tres Stefurak (CEPS), Harold Pardue (GRAD), Emily Wilson (WCOM), Doug Marshall (HONORS), Darryl James (ENG)

CAL Present: Charles Guest, Julie Estis, Mathew Cox, Anjie Davis, Nicole Carr

Guests Present: Ashley Suggs, David Blair, Ashley Gibson, Christina Wassenaar, Jim Berscheidt, Micheal Chambers, Joél Billingsley, Lisa LaCross

#### **Council of Academic Leaders**

- 1. Minutes of the January 15, 2025 meeting were approved as written.
- 2. Brand Implementations: Jim Berscheidt reviewed the new brand implementations including the viewbook, academic program brochures, and email signature block. Copies of the latest South magazine are available in the MarComm office.
- 3. Revised Military Leave Policy: David Blair and Ashley Suggs presented the revised Military Leave policy for feedback. The policy was approved, with edits, and the approved copy will be sent via email to the Council once the edits are made.
- 4. Federal Grant Issues: Michael Chambers and Joél Billingsley discussed the current state of federal grants and the potential effects on our active research. The newly formed Active Research Review Group is working to determine the level of risk for each of the ongoing grants.
- 5. CoTL Update: Lisa LaCross provided an update on CoTL 2025 and announced Dr. Edward Watson and Dr. Maribeth Gandy Coleman as the 2025 keynote speakers.

### **Council of Academic Deans**

- AHETEC Update: Susan Gordon-Hickey addressed the feedback received from the Faculty Senate, the committee's response, and the revised report based on that feedback. Dr. Gordon-Hickey submitted the revised AHETEC report for review by the deans.
- 2. Other: Raise eligibility for Exceptional Performance Stipends was discussed and the consensus was that they should not be raise-eligible. A motion to confirm this decision was made by Dr. Andrzej Wierzbicki, seconded by Dr. Susan Gordon-Hickey, and passed unanimously.